An official report supports only what it records. Individual identities, award eligibility and aggregate casualty totals require separate evidence.
Military, diplomatic, contractor and broader historical events are labeled separately. A reported incident does not establish anyone’s presence, combat status, casualty status or award eligibility. H31 is a probable duplicate of the China Palace event and has no second card.
V1 · Official record; see limitsH04 · 7 Apr 1988; U.S. Embassy annex, Tegucigalpa
Violent attack/riot at annex, listed as arson in a State diplomatic-installation table; casualties not established. The State human rights report links related disorders in Tegucigalpa and San Pedro Sula, but their precise sequence needs separate documentation.
U.S. connection and evidence: Diplomatic installation; no U.S. military connection documented. V1, high for date and attack; moderate for arson classification.
Provenance: State, Country Report on Human Rights Practices for 1988, Honduras introduction and disappearance section, archived State text; State, Attacks on U.S. Diplomatic Installations, 1987–1997, “Annex–Tegucigalpa / Arson,” table; State Department, State Magazine, July 1988, News Highlights, reports convening its first accountability review board after extensive annex damage, archived issue.
V1 · Official record; see limitsH05 · 19 Dec 1988; Peace Corps headquarters, Tegucigalpa
Bombing; State human rights report says no injuries; damage not established from summary.
U.S. connection and evidence: U.S. government civilian target; no military link established. V1, moderate; obtain 1988 annual detail.
Provenance: State diplomatic-installation table, row “12/19/88 Peace Corps Hqs.–Tegucigalpa / Bombing,” table; State, Country Report on Human Rights Practices for 1988, Honduras introduction, archived text.
V1 · Official record; see limitsH06 · 30 Jan 1989; near Peace Corps building, Tegucigalpa
Homemade bomb found by a private residence roughly 100 m from Peace Corps building and disarmed; no responsibility claim; injuries not stated. This does not establish the intended target.
U.S. connection and evidence: No military link. V1, high for discovery.
Provenance: State, Significant Incidents of Political Violence Against Americans: 1989, publication 9767, printed p. 3 / PDF p. 8; OJP copy.
V1 · Official record; see limitsH09 · 23 Feb 1989; La Ceiba
Grenade at Standard Fruit Company offices; windows shattered, no injuries; perpetrators unknown.
U.S. connection and evidence: American affiliated business interest; military link unestablished. V1, high.
Provenance: Same State report, printed p. 4 / PDF p. 9, PDF.
V1 · Official record; see limitsH11 · 16 Apr 1989; U.S. Embassy warehouse, Tegucigalpa
Device exploded prematurely while two people reportedly tried to plant it: one killed, one seriously injured; minor door damage; unexploded grenade found. These are attacker casualties, not U.S. casualties.
U.S. connection and evidence: Diplomatic facility; no military participation established. V1, high for event; police inference about intent attributed.
Provenance: Same State report, printed p. 5 / PDF p. 10, PDF.
V1 · Official record; see limitsH12 · 10 Jul 1989; near Avance offices, Tegucigalpa
Honduran police disarmed timed dynamite under a car near a USAID funded educational organization; Americans reportedly on staff; prior threats reported by press. No injuries in report.
U.S. connection and evidence: U.S. aid connection; no military link. V1 for device, V2/R for reported staffing and threats.
Provenance: Same State report, printed p. 7 / PDF p. 12, PDF.
R · Reported; T · Accounts; U · DetailsH15 · 13 May 1991 · Cerro la Mole
A published retrospective account describes a fatal MEDEVAC crash at Cerro la Mole on May 13, 1991. An Air Medal certificate reproduction for crew member William L. Jarrell II has been located. The complete accident report, casualty records and award orders remain sought; cause and individual recognition details remain under review.
The retrospective account describes California Army National Guard crew connections. Assignment records remain needed. Neither hostile action nor accident responsibility is established by the certificate reproduction.
V1 · Official record; see limitsH16 · 31 May 1991; Tegucigalpa
Small bomb exploded roughly 50 yards from Burger King; no reported damage or injuries. Leaflets made anti-American references and expressed anger at former MPL-C members. Intended target is not established.
U.S. connection and evidence: No military link documented. V1, high for explosion; U for intended target.
Provenance: State, Significant Incidents of Political Violence Against Americans: 1991, printed p. 15 / PDF p. 20, OJP copy.
V1 · Official record; see limitsH17 · 2 Dec 1991; San Pedro Sula
RPG attack on Cervecería Hondureña brewery, owned by U.S. firm Castle & Cooke; no injuries reported; damage estimated by State at $1 million. FPM faction claimed responsibility in taped message.
U.S. connection and evidence: U.S.-owned business; no military link documented. V1, high.
Provenance: Same 1991 State report, printed p. 20 / PDF p. 25, PDF.
V2/R · Corroborated or reported; see limitsH18 · 17 Jul 1988; outside Confettis discotheque, San Pedro Sula
Armed attackers used guns and an explosive as U.S. servicemen boarded a vehicle. Initial report counted five wounded; subsequent reporting counted six. Exact weapon and final casualty roster require official files.
U.S. connection and evidence: Contemporary U.S. official statement identifies personnel as attached to JTF-Bravo at Palmerola; State 1988 human rights report independently notes an attack on U.S. military personnel without date. V2 with official confirmation of an attack, high for event, U for final count.
Provenance: State, Country Report on Human Rights Practices for 1988, Honduras introduction, archived text; UPI, 17–18 Jul 1988, citing U.S. officials, initial report and follow-up.
V1 · Official record; see limitsH19 · 25 Feb 1989; mountain in Honduras, exact location not given
Private Honduran air-cargo contractor’s DC-6, used to air-drop USAID-financed supplies to Resistance camps, crashed into a mountainside; all ten aboard killed. GAO says cause undetermined; AID officials believed fuel exhaustion. Nationalities and military status of those aboard not stated.
U.S. connection and evidence: U.S. government-funded contractor transportation; no U.S. military crew or hostile action documented. V1, high for crash and count, U for cause and identities.
Provenance: GAO, Central America: Humanitarian Assistance to the Nicaraguan Democratic Resistance, GAO/NSIAD-90-62, printed p. 26 / PDF p. 26.
Historical context / source limitsH20 · Aug–Sep 1983; Olancho Department, exact disappearance date unknown
U.S. priest James Carney, who traveled with an armed guerrilla group, was reported missing to U.S. Embassy by late September. Fate and cause remain contested; a CIA inspector-general summary says available information cannot definitively rule out capture, interrogation and killing by Honduran military. Do not report a proven killing or perpetrator.
U.S. connection and evidence: U.S. citizen/consular interest, no U.S. military service connection established. V1 for disappearance; U for fate.
Provenance: U.S. Senate Foreign Relations hearing, Nomination of John D. Negroponte, printed pp. 7–9 / PDF pp. 9–11, reproduced CIA IG findings, GPO hearing; State, 1997 Human Rights Report: Honduras, archived report.
V1 · Official record; see limitsH21 · 11 Jan 1984; near Nicaragua border, landing in Honduras
Unarmed U.S. OH-58 took fire, landed in Honduras; pilot CW2 Schwab was killed after exiting, two U.S. passengers survived according to White House statement. Subsequent Pentagon investigation reportedly found possible/actual incursion into Nicaraguan airspace before the forced landing; flight path and sequence must be sourced to full inquiry.
U.S. connection and evidence: U.S. Army helicopter in Honduras exercise context, individual passengers/units and award status require records. V1, high for fatal attack, U for route/sequence.
Provenance: White House, Statement by Principal Deputy Press Secretary Speakes on the Nicaraguan Attack on an Unarmed United States Helicopter, 12 Jan 1984, Reagan Presidential Library; contemporary Pentagon-investigation report, Washington Post, 14 Mar 1984. White House spells name “Jeffrey”; V3’s Schwab research lead uses “Jeffry”; check official casualty record before public name standardization.
V2/R · Corroborated or reported; see limitsH22 · 2 Feb 1984; mountainous south-central Honduras on El Aguacate–San Lorenzo route, precise site unresolved
U.S. Army UH-60 crashed in bad weather; contemporaneous U.S. Embassy statement gave four U.S. service members dead and six injured, three critically. Embassy said no indication of hostile action.
U.S. connection and evidence: Flight supported joint U.S.–Honduran exercise; unit/occupants require accident/casualty records. V2 with contemporaneous official statement reported, moderate to high.
Provenance: Washington Post, 4 Feb 1984, quoting U.S. Embassy one-page statement and reporting 2 Feb crash, article; UPI, 3 Feb 1984, article.
R/L · Research lead; details unresolvedH23 · 18 Jun 1986 (derived from “last Wednesday” in 24 Jun report); forested eastern Honduras, exact site unknown
Contemporary account citing U.S. and Honduran officials says Staff Sgt. Timothy Hudgens was fatally stabbed by a Honduran soldier and Sgt. Christopher Bresko wounded in the leg. It describes the stabbing as accidental, but the U.S. Embassy said an investigation was ongoing; motive and legal determination remain unresolved.
U.S. connection and evidence: Both were taking part in Cabañas 86 joint maneuvers according to the report; specific unit assignment needs official personnel records. V2/R, moderate; date inferred from relative wording.
Provenance: UPI, Two U.S. soldiers die, one injured in joint maneuvers, 24 Jun 1986, reporting U.S. Embassy and military statements, report.
V1 · Official record; see limitsH24 · 22 Jan 1985; sea off Trujillo, Colón Department
U.S. C-130A (56-0501) crashed while attempting to land; all 21 aboard died. The Air Force wing history says seven crew and fourteen passengers, differing from the initial press description of five crew and sixteen passengers. Do not assign occupant categories without manifest.
U.S. connection and evidence: 440th Tactical Airlift Wing aircraft; military airlift from Panama to Honduras documented. No hostile action established. V1, high for date, crash, 21 deaths and wing; U for passenger breakdown and cause.
Provenance: U.S. Air Force, History of the 440th Airlift Wing, “The 440th in the 1980s,” official history; Air Education and Training Command, Family of fallen Airman visits clinic bearing his name, 21 May 2015, official corroboration; Army/Air Force death determination quoted by UPI, 26 Jan 1985, contemporaneous report.
R/L · Research lead; details unresolvedH25 · 11 Jun 1986; eastern Honduras, exact site unknown
Contemporary U.S./Honduran military statements reported that U.S. soldier Paul J. Sexton died of a heart attack during Cabañas 86 maneuvers. This is a medical death, separate from H23's stabbing. Another nonofficial chronology gives 17 Jun; obtain casualty record to resolve.
U.S. connection and evidence: Joint maneuvers reported; particular unit/medical finding unverified from primary record. V2/R, moderate for reported death; U for exact date.
Provenance: UPI, Two U.S. soldiers die, one injured in joint maneuvers, 24 Jun 1986, report.
Historical context / source limitsH26 · 26 Nov 1983 (inferred from 29 Nov report's “Saturday”); Regional Military Training Center, near Puerto Castilla
Honduran army communiqué reported a high-voltage cable touched metal security works, killing Honduran soldier José Iván Tróchez and seriously burning eleven Honduran soldiers. No U.S. casualties stated.
U.S. connection and evidence: Accident at center where U.S. Special Forces trained Salvadoran soldiers; the source does not establish U.S. personnel witnessed or participated in accident. V2/R, moderate; original communiqué needed for V1.
Provenance: UPI, One dead, 11 wounded in accident at U.S. base, 29 Nov 1983, reproducing Honduran army communiqué, report.
R/L · Research lead; details unresolvedH27 · c. 12–14 Dec 1984; northeastern Honduras river, exact site unverified
A contemporary press item cited in a federal-hosted research report said two U.S. Navy members died in a demolition accident. A veteran advocacy chronology identifies Arthur Fusco and Michael Uyeda and places it at Río Amatingni on 12 Dec, but neither names nor location has been checked against Navy records.
U.S. connection and evidence: Navy connection reported, unit and mission unverified. L/R, low to moderate.
Provenance: ERIC-hosted Honduras research report, PDF, citing Washington Post, 14 Dec 1984, p. A20; veteran advocacy lead. ERIC hosting does not make the report a federal finding.
V2/R · Corroborated or reported; see limitsH28 · 16 Dec 1984; near Mocorón, eastern Honduras
Capt. W. Drew Harrington was killed and three U.S. soldiers injured when U.S. mortar rounds landed short during practice. A 1985 report cites Army investigative transcripts; alleged old ammunition and safety lapses are attributed to witnesses and need the complete Army findings.
U.S. connection and evidence: U.S. Army Ranger training reported; exact unit/order and investigation outcome require records. V2/R, moderate to high for deaths/injuries, U for cause beyond short mortar fire.
Provenance: UPI, An Army Ranger captain killed in Honduras last December..., 16 Jun 1985, reporting Seattle Times examination of FOIA-released Army transcripts, report; Ranger memorial biography, corroborating memorial.
R/L · Research lead; details unresolvedH29 · 1981 (possibly 23 Sep, disputed); Tegucigalpa (verify)
Later specialist history reports a vehicle with five U.S. military advisers was ambushed and two wounded. Former ambassador Negroponte recalled an attack on two U.S. advisers in late 1981, one critically wounded; contemporary press likewise recalled an early-1981 attack with two seriously wounded. A 1985 U.S. government paper, as described by a veteran advocacy group, may say two were killed; the original page has not yet been independently inspected and this conflicts with the wound accounts. The proposed 23 September date is not established by the hearing and conflicts with the contemporary press retrospective’s “early 1981”; confirm whether sources describe the same event. Do not publish a fatality count or a precise date.
U.S. connection and evidence: U.S. adviser connection reported, identities/units unknown. R/U, low to moderate; first-priority casualty verification.
Provenance: Rex A. Hudson, Castro's America Department, note 164, historical study; CIA-released Nicaraguan Aggression Against Costa Rica and Honduras, 1979 to Present, 26 Jun 1985, p. 3, original PDF requiring direct inspection; advocacy interpretation. CIA custody of a paper is not independent confirmation of every assertion in it. Senate Foreign Relations, Nomination of John D. Negroponte, printed p. 57 / PDF p. 61, ambassador testimony; Washington Post, 19 Sep 1982, retrospective.
V2/R · Corroborated or reported; see limitsH30 · 8 Dec 1988; near La Ceiba, northern Honduras
U.S. Army CH-47 crashed during maneuvers; subsequent contemporaneous accounts say all five Americans aboard died, after initial reports counted only three or four confirmed dead. Cause requires Army accident board.
U.S. connection and evidence: U.S. Embassy spokeswoman identified personnel as stationed with JTF-Bravo at Palmerola. Do not infer a particular brigade, crew duty or hostile action. V2 with attributed U.S. Embassy confirmation; high for crash and five fatalities, U for cause.
Provenance: UPI, Four American soldiers killed in helicopter crash, 8 Dec 1988, quoting embassy, initial report; Los Angeles Times, 9 Dec 1988, five-fatality follow-up.
Historical context / source limitsH32 · Before 14 Jul 1982; Honduras power stations, including Tegucigalpa plant per later recollection (precise attack dates/sites unresolved)
President Reagan publicly described recent attacks on Honduran power stations that interrupted power to hospitals, water and other essential services. Former ambassador John Negroponte recalled a Tegucigalpa power-plant bombing in 1982. Neither source supplies a casualty count or proves these accounts refer to only one attack.
U.S. connection and evidence: Honduran infrastructure and U.S. diplomatic concern; no U.S. military target or participant established. V1 for official acknowledgment; R/U for event count, date and specific sites.
Provenance: Reagan and Suazo, Remarks Following Their Meeting, 14 Jul 1982, transcript, remarks para. 3; Senate Foreign Relations, Nomination of John D. Negroponte, 2001 hearing, printed p. 57 / PDF p. 61, testimony.
Historical context / source limitsH33 · 17–25 Sep 1982 (contemporary account says last hostages freed 25 Sep); Chamber of Commerce, San Pedro Sula
Cinchoneros took Honduran business leaders and officials hostage, demanding release of prisoners and removal of U.S. military advisers. Contemporary hostage estimates differ as releases occurred; do not give a single verified total. Former ambassador Negroponte recalled roughly one hundred held for about a week. No American hostage or casualty is established.
U.S. connection and evidence: Demand targeted U.S. adviser presence; contemporaneous press reported U.S. Embassy military officers arriving to meet Honduran command during siege, without proving U.S. participation in assault or negotiation. V1 for documented U.S. diplomatic testimony about event; V2/R for reported adviser movements.
Provenance: Senate Foreign Relations, Nomination of John D. Negroponte, printed p. 57 / PDF p. 61, testimony; Washington Post, 20 Sep 1982, siege report; UPI, 26 Sep 1982, retrospective.